Bryn Mawr Rowing Competes At Murphy Cup Regatta

Bryn Mawr Rowing Competes At Murphy Cup Regatta

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. - The Bryn Mawr Rowing crew team made its return to the Schuylkill River Saturday morning, competing in the Murphy Cup Regatta. The competition saw a varsity 4+ boat and varsity 8+ on the water representing Bryn Mawr for the weekend.

The Owls varsity 4+ boat featured Anushka Robinson, Hannah Terz, Ritvika Patodia, Aine Williams-Asplund, and Cam Cameron. In the Women's Second Varsity Four Event the Owls' 2V4+ boat finished fifth in their heat in a time of 9:06.23. The squad had a good race, and took the opportunity in these early days of racing season to train their new coxswain, Cam Cameron, first-year Aine Williams-Asplund. It was a great experience for them and the rest of the boat to come together and face up against some very tough competition. 

In the Women Varsity Eight DIII trials Bryn Mawr posted a third place finish in their heat, finishing in a time of 8:08.78. This secured the Owls a spot in finals, where the competition was stacked with some of the top DIII programs in the country. Meanwhile on the water, conditions kept getting rougher as the final approached. By the time the Owls launched, the winds and waves were pushing boats around the course and making it difficult for even the best crews to row a clean race. However, Bryn Mawr's spring break training trip to Lake Lure had plenty prepared the team for tough conditions, and the Owls broke away from the pack at just about half way through the 2000m. The varsity eight's new coxswain, Samantha Van Cott, steered a great course and made some smart calls to take Bryn Mawr to a third place finish in a time of 8:13.64. That is a phenonmenal start with such a young crew so early in the season, and the team is really looking forward to building on the performance over the next couple weeks. The Owls third place finish beat out Wesleyan, Rochester and Washington College. Representing Bryn Mawr in the V8+ boat was Emily Spiegel, Madison Barchas, Sovigne Gardner, Aurielle Hampton, Sophia McConnell, Jacqueline Fernandez, Samantha Forestier, and Lina Oppenheimer.

The Owls will return to action Saturday, April 7th for the Bryn Mawr, Washington College, and La Salle Invitational.

Murphy Cup V8+ bronze medals